Passou o Verao

Purchase & Rental Links,
Program Notes, and Rehearsal Materials


Original Instrumentation: Solo Vocal, Flute, Harp and Strings
Text: Sonnet CLXXXXVI by Luis de Camoes (sung in Portuguese)
Duration: 7:00
Year: 2013

Performance History: Commissioned by Alexandra Iranfar. First performed October 25, 2013 at Old First Church, San Francisco, CA by Alexandra Iranfar. Original title: "Aguas da Montanha (Passou o Verão)".

FROM CHRISTOPHER: "Passou o Verão was originally written as a solo vocal and guitar piece, but ultimately reorchestrated for flute, harp, and strings. The orchestration was inspired by the Adagietto of Mahler's 5th Symphony. It's one of my favorite pieces to conduct live in concert. The title translates as 'Summer Has Gone', and the nihilistic text speaks to the chaos of life, and the world being forgotten by God."


Full Score and Parts
Solo Vocal (Alto), Flute, Harp, Strings
Worldwide Rental: Boosey & Hawkes